Meet Randi: A Midland Mom who Loves to Explore!

Hello mamas! I am Randi and I am a recent transplant to Midland. I have been married to my amazing husband Vern since 2005. We have two boys ages 13 and 6. We get the comment all the time {and yes it does get old hearing} “wow, I bet that was a surprise!” Both of our boys were very much planned, God had other plans for us and so we were patient. 

picture5
picture6
Picture1
picture3

Ethan is our 13 year old and minus the 22 hours of labor and delivery {I don’t let him forget that}, he was everything you thought a baby would be. He slept through the night, rarely cried and kept us going. Ethan is very smart, caring, loving, loves to read and is very active in sports; currently, he is running track. Ethan has been looking at colleges for the past three years and knows what he wants his major to be. He cannot wait to get a job now, so he can save and not have to worry about working while in college. I tell him I do not know where he gets it, but I love that he has such a great head on his shoulders.

David is our six year old. I was induced with David, and everyone had shared horror stories with me, but I believe it is the easiest thing I have done. David came on his own, the doctor was in the elevator on his way to my room when David made his appearance. That is David! He is spunky, loving, creative and smart. He did spend a week in the NICU and that I believe is the hardest thing I had to do. David loves sports, but his passion is for soccer. David is my daredevil, Ethan did not prepare me for that. We do have a fur baby, Ginger, she is an 11 year old cocker spaniel. Don’t let her size fool you, she can push over my six year old if she gets enough of a running start! She belonged to my father-in-law, and when he passed away last summer, she came home with us. She has been the greatest addition!

I grew up in Michigan. I spent 14 years in the suburbs of Detroit, moved with my family to the Lapeer area and have hopped around since. My husband calls me a gypsy because I love moving and seeing new places. We are very excited though to finally plant our roots! We did try and leave Michigan once. A few years back we moved to Tennessee. We were there for three months, and knew it wasn’t for us. We hurried back to Michigan and haven’t looked away since. I have worked in the schools and as a paralegal in the past, but within the last month or so have made the transition to being a SAHM. Being a SAHM is difficult and I have a lot to learn! I do plan on returning to school to finish my Social Work degree, but for now I am dabbling in the art of t-shirt and mug making.

I love the outdoors and I love being together as a family! We love Michigan and all of her seasons! You will always find us outside. We love digging for worms in the spring, swimming in the pool or a lake in the summer, jumping in a leaf pile in the fall and building a snow fort in the winter. I enjoy camping bonfires, bike rides, fishing and ice fishing and snowmobiling.

We have loved getting to know Midland and know there is much more for us to find! Something we enjoy doing often is pulling out a map of Michigan, and with our eyes closed, point to a spot on it and go there for a day or weekend. We love exploring the city or town and seeing what it has to offer. It is such a great adventure!

 

I am so excited to be a part of this group and cannot wait to meet all of you! This is going to be a great journey to be on and I am looking forward to sharing that with all of you!

 

, , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply